Step by Step

IMG_5155

This painting has been quite a process.

It all started more than a month ago with the blog post below. I knew it would make a good painting but needed to be fleshed out. I decided to add more horses but didn’t want them to distract too much from the trees so wanted them quite small. These quick studies helped me know how to tackle the horses.2016-05-26 16.45.43 (1)

Next, I tackled the larger format 16 x 20 inch board, painting the elements in loosely allowing for changes. The foreground horse was added to improve the composition, pulled from my imagination so a bit more of struggle than the others. When the lights came onto the trunks of the trees, everything changed! I am so happy with the results of a more methodical approach to my work. I already know what I will tackle next!

IMG_5130IMG_5150

10 responses to “Step by Step

  1. Beautiful work!

  2. Yes, the light on the trees; transporting! Terrific dimension, alive yet calm.

  3. Great painting. Really gives me the sense of a quiet, cool morning!

  4. This painting is so peaceful, but it obviously was done with great care. I love the sunlight hitting the trees.

  5. Beautiful and inspiring! I love the light on and through the trees and the hills that are back there. Bravo!

Leave a comment