Palette Knifed

I went back three times to this spot to work on this piece that was inspired by the mysterious (to me) death of a well-known, plein-aire painter, Louisa McElwain. Melinda reminded me to take a look at her bold approach a couple of weeks back. And when searching for her, on the web, I discovered she had died. I watched a video of her painting and was inspired to try using a palette knife and lots of paint. I’m very happy with this one. Just need to fix the sky. In honor of you, Louisa. Wish I’d known you.

IMG_3463_1_1

2 responses to “Palette Knifed

  1. Really love this one — Bet it’s even better “live” with the textures. Thanks for sharing your work!

Leave a Reply

