Brrrr

IMG_3263_3_1Wow, it is cold today, as we prepare for some much needed rain. The wimp in me wanted to stay warm, inside, painting near the wood stove. But thanks to my new friend Kathryn and “old” friend Melinda, who invited me to join them painting plein aire, and since I need more farm paintings, we met here, bracing weather be damned.

IMG_3262_2_1IMG_3260_1_1

I think I have enough information to finish it up (with many others 😦 ) tomorrow, hopefully watching the rain come down, with the fire lit. Not happy with the fact that the large eucalyptus tree is in the center of the picture. And not too sure I can fix it. But I do like the simplification of the shapes and the colors.

6 responses to “Brrrr

  1. Candi, I so agree with you. We are working on simplification with Sandra now. I like the simpler shapes and with artistic license, you can move the tree. It is very in the center. Melinda Moore….? if so give her my best.

  2. love seeing your paintings! I want to meet you one day at Farmers mkt. but I really like your work. 😉 janis

  3. Brrrr is right! I love yard work and exercising when it’s cold (at least once I’ve taken that first fateful step out of the warm house and off the porch) but painting seems a tad stationary–do you generate enough body heat with all that brow furrowing you do? 🙂
    Looks pretty nice to me Candi—tree & all!

    • Thanks Andrew,
      Brow furrowing helps keep my face warm, but then I can’t see too well. My face is pretty wrinkly these days. So I tend to rely on a hat and thick socks.
      But actually, I shouldn’t complain. My mother-in-law reminds me that it’s quite a bit colder in Wisconsin right now…
      Is there a “shut up and paint” t-shirt out there?

Leave a Reply

