Bigger Fat Squash

I liked the last squash so much I decided I’d try it again, bigger. The last one was just 6 by 7 inches.

I knew I needed lots more paint and I mixed it first.

 

I did a drawing in cad red on a 16 by 20 inch board.

And just started smearing on paint with a palette knife

…and using oil paint sticks, trying to preserve the values while adding texture and interest.

Then blending everything out with a palette knife,

and reworking the drawing…

… and the background a bit.

What do you think? It’s better than last year’s squash, I think. Not a good photo though. By the time I finished, it was getting dark. My photos are much better when I use sunlight.

2 responses to “Bigger Fat Squash

  1. Beautiful work. I grew this wonderfully dense little kabocha for the first time this year. Can’t wait to taste it, but something compels me to test the storage ability of my little stash and wait for the colder months.
    I love seeing your process, makes me want to get into painting.

    • Thank you, Andy. That is definitely my favorite tasting squash. But I agree with you. Let it sit around so you can admire it. It will taste that much better.

Leave a Reply

