Rugged Mountains

I have painted most of the day. Yesterday we drove to an artist friend’s studio in the middle of nowhere. I was so excited I couldn’t wait to mix up some luscious colors and see if I can put something down.

But first I felt the need to tackle these pears a second time, as a warm-up exercise maybe?

I have been working with the gouache in ways that I’ve never tried before now. The landscapes inspired by our drive into the wild back roads of Mount St. Helena I’m looking at as studies for a larger oil painting. The gouache is great at finding good color and value as reference. It reminds me of wood block or silk screen prints.

I also added the foreground to this painting from several weeks ago…the freshly dragged riding arena, which were such a fun element to the rest of the lovely creased fields.

Leave a Reply

