More Gouache studies

I’ve been working small, on watercolor paper cards. They are fun and quick and I don’t care too much if they turn out as originally planned. I keep learning from them, about color and value. In all cases, I worked on three at a time, showing you just the one I like the best. I find that works well, allowing for drying time between colors.

The last image is of a plein air landscape I started last week at my friend Patti’s house has an amazing view, looking down onto the Petaluma plain. I didn’t get very far but loved the colors and shapes. I don’t think this medium works for me as well in this circumstance. I might try adding some pastel on top of this one. But next time I stay at Patti’s I’ll probably take oils, though I sure love the water clean-up!

Leave a Reply

