Long Horns

I need to add a bit more to the grasses.

It’s a challenge for me to paint this foreground. I want depth yet not to paint much detail. It is taking more paint than I would have thought. Almost everything is almost the same color with subtle variations in value. I keep trying to affect the surface with more than a brush. I’m using my fingers (with gloves) and a rag, putting paint on, then taking it off, smearing and spackling. Like I said, it doesn’t look quite right yet. I do like the way the cattle are standing in the field and how the sun has been “turned on” them.

I wish it were bigger. I don’t like working with the little brushes. It’s on a 12″ x 24″ board. I guess, someday I could do another.

Leave a Reply

