Zen blossoms

I really needed to paint today. I used an old board, with another unresolved painting underneath. I used quinacridone red, a truly remarkable vivid pink color, with medium to help it dry faster, to lay in the drawing. I will cover most of the drawing tomorrow (hopefully) with darks but leaving a bit of pink to “rose-up” the reddish stems. The grey object to the left of the vase is an old paint can Paul found flattened in the road, wonderful shape with great texture. It’s strange, I know, (does it look like grey men’s underpants?) but I like it and it was fun to paint. It has a funny handle which I’ll add next time. Thank you Oak Hill Farm, Stacy, David and Chuy for the lovely flowers!

Leave a Reply

