Another Self-Portrait

It seems important, in my quest to abstraction, to begin with a pretty tight drawing. Look for this painting to become much more abstract. I am going to as my friend Francine says, “Save the best, lose the rest”.

I always loved this image. I think my father took the picture, one of the few times he ever saw me ride. The horse was named Laguna, a horse I took home from Camp Winamac in New Hampshire, after summer was over. I kept him until the next summer. He taught me so much. I worked at the boarding stable to keep him, cleaning stalls in the morning, and teaching beginner lessons in the afternoon. He was a wonderful horse. I even took him on a fox hunt! The hunt was probably the most fun I have ever had on a horse, and that’s saying something. I was probably 20.

5 responses to “Another Self-Portrait

  1. Hi Candi. You are well on your way to abstraction! I love the life-force in this latest work. Can’t wait to see how it evolves. I tried the subscription thing……tell me how you like it. Not sure if I do or not. It is a Google thing.

  2. Hi Candy,
    What a lovely painting– so fluid and truly conveying the sense that you both are working together. I believe my father saw me ride all of two times as well–compare that to how we attend our children’s sports events!. I have a vague recollection of Laguna, but somehow don’t remember you having him at Wayside. I hope to see Hermann’s Lippinzers perform tomorrow in lovely meadow overlooking the Essex marshes. I’ve already taken two strolls up to see them housed in their tents. I had a chance to ride one once about 35 years ago–Col. Hermann was a friend of my grandma’s in Sarasota. Lise

  3. Thank you for the tip on abstract art! I love the insight into your life in the painting. The colors are wonderful.

Leave a Reply

