Oil Sketches

I have been away for awhile, feeling rather frustrated with large paintings that require many passes to complete. Right now, my life is not set up to manage days in a row to work on my art. And I have convinced myself that is what is needed to work on larger canvases. Anyone think differently? Am I just a whiner?

I’ve been excited by some new plein air work. Next week is the Plein Air Festival in Sonoma. Each year, these extraordinary painters come for a week and paint here and there, barns and tractors, local landscapes with the quick certainty that I greatly admire. Next weekend, they will display all their week’s work for sale. It’s always an inspiration. New this year, the painters are scheduled to work at the Farmers’ Market on Tuesday night. If I wasn’t working it, I would watch carefully. Saturday, I may even see a picture of myself!

To cheer me up, I decided I need to work on small fast studies of something right in front of me. These two sketches, of our new cat Deiter, were a purr-fect project today. Painting this cat, I realized I’ve never had a black cat. He has a particularly solid build. I hope my drawings show that. I see I need to fuss a bit with shades of black but mostly these do cheer me up. I bought a pad of canvas “paper”, which can be easily matted to finish it off, if I choose to sell them.

Speaking of that, the month of June, I will have a show up at Oak Hill Farm in the Red Barn. The show will include all my most recent work and maybe some of these sketches as well. The store is open Wednesday through Sunday, 10 am to 6 pm. Everything will be for sale.

Leave a Reply

