Paint Pepperwood

I have been looking forward to a plein air class at Pepperwood Preserve for more than a month. It was today and it was pouring rain, very cold and windy. Despite the wicked weather, almost all 25 painters showed up. That’s how striking this landscape is. Our teacher, Marsha Connell was excellent and helped everyone with her cheer and knowledge.

Those of us using oils stood outside under a wide porch which was somewhat protected. There was a shift of wind though, and most of us were caught wondering how to deal with the raindrops all over our paintings and palettes. I started two paintings of the same section of hillside and plan to finish them this week.

One of the other extreme painters, Elaine, sent me this picture she took of me, just before I packed up.

5 responses to “Paint Pepperwood

  1. Pingback: Lilacs and Pepper(wood) | Art on a Farm

  2. Hi, I see you visited my site. So, I had to explore. Pepperwood, I know a little bit. Hope the sun peeks out at our next class.
    How are you randomly linked to Oak Hill?
    I read Raskin’s book after some of his storytelling.
    Lynn

    • Hi Lynn, I’m a bit confused. I haven’t visited your site, but I will now! Were you in the class yesterday? I work at Oak Hill, sell at the farmers’ markets and coordinate the restaurant orders. Paul, the vegetable grower, is my partner and we live on the farm owner’s property. My picture is in Jonah’s book.
      Looking forward to backtowalking!
      Candi

  3. Hi Candi, It was nice meeting you yesterday at Pepperwood. I love your work!
    If you let me know your email address, I’ll forward you the photo.
    Also, here is the link to the North Bay Plein Air group on Meetup.com. I painted with these folks at Freestone a couple weeks ago, it was fun.

    North Bay Plein Air

    San Rafael, CA
    453 Members

    Bringing artist together and painting outdoors – mainly the North Bay Area (Marin, Sonoma, Napa and Santa Rosa, and Solano County). We meet on the last Sunday of every month (…

    Next Meetup

    WORKSHOP: Sketch and Draw the Horses of Point Reyes National…

    Saturday, Oct 11, 2014, 9:30 AM
    7 Attending

    Check out this Meetup Group →

    Best wishes, Elaine

Leave a Reply

