Outside

I was born and raised in California. When I was a sophomore in high school, we moved to Westchester County, north of New York City. I’ll never get over the first spring. After seeing a landscape of black, grey and white for months, the bogs began to thaw and sprout skunk cabbage. That’s what the locals called it. The trees budded up and became a haze of lemony green. My appreciation for green is always exaggerated if I have lived without.

But now, my appreciation is for sun! I started this landscape today, turning away from squash for now.

2 responses to “Outside

  1. lise michelman

    Hello Candi!

    I stumbled upon your site tonight. Your paintings are lovely. You sound very happy and wise. I would love to catch up with you. It’s been a very long time. Write if you have a spare moment.

Leave a Reply

