Inspired by Roudneff and Poortvliet

These tulips are weak and need more darks. I am inspired by George Roudneff so I will keep fussing. Maybe the tulips need to be as dark as the leaves. I’ll try that. Though, I want to try to consolodate the darks and the flowers run diagonally across the top 1/3 of the picture. Can I connect them without losing their flowerness?

Our tai chi teacher’s wonderful dog Ti, 1/2 rotweiller, 1/2 ridgeback has a cancer diagnosis. I have always admired his muscular build and happy-go-lucky goofiness. I hope he’ll be OK. This painting was inspired by the great animal painter, Rien Poortvliet. His book The Farm Book, was my very favorite to read with Quinten when he was young. The long-hand text is charming and the illustrations are loose, descriptive and are certainly the work of a master draftsman. My painting pales in comparison.

Leave a Reply

