Nailed It!

I got it, finally. I am stoked about this one, it’s now my favorite. The darks are the most obvious thing that improves this painting. But it’s more than just the darks. There are layers of color, some covered entirely, exposed here and there. Sometimes when I work on something like this, something familiar and frustrating, I just mess it all up, use more frantic brushstrokes, or draw with oil sticks. I’m so glad to have worked through this one and will move on to the next.

One response to “Nailed It!

  1. what an interesting blog! I feel like I just talked to you, not just read it. Love the squash paintings and Charlie’s portrait too.
    You’re so good.
    Damn, its raining like hell at the moment…guess no planting outside yet.
    Francinexxoo

Leave a Reply

