Sustainable Painting?

I had a chance to paint yesterday, most of the day. I worked on 3 pieces, with thoughts of a show about “Sustainability” swimming in the background of my strokes. How can I visually show, something that connotes sustainable? Should I show contrast, one approach that is within balance and another that is clearly not? Mega-farm growing corn vs. small, diverse, organic fields? Could it be something that “works”, like a terrarium, that recycles its air and water and feeds some plants and lizards or frogs?

I am enjoying these studies of squash, though I continue to struggle with values and color. I finally placed squash outside and looked at them out the window in the overcast light. It helped quite a bit.

Leave a Reply

